The 2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry has been awarded to a trio of scientists for their pioneering work in developing molecular machines. These gadgets measure just a thousandth of a human hair in width, and they’re poised to revolutionise everything from manufacturing and materials to medicine and the functioning of the human body.

The winners of this year’s prize are Jean-Pierre Sauvage from the University of Strasbourg in France, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart from Northwestern University in Illinois and Bernard L. Feringa from the University of Groningen in the Netherlands.


Read more